(WTNH) – On July 1, 2022, marijuana will be legal in Connecticut. Last year, Connecticut legalized cannabis for residents who are 21 and older. News 8 is breaking down everything you need to know before it becomes legal.
How much marijuana can you have on you?
According to the bill, residents 21 and older must not have more than 1.5 ounces of cannabis plant material at the person’s home or in their car. Residents are also not allowed to have more than five ounces in a locked container in their home or car. In short, residents are allowed to have a total of 6.5 ounces of cannabis.
What is the fine for carrying more than the legal limit?
If a resident possesses more than the bill’s limit, the first offense is a $100 fine and a $250 fine for a subsequent offense. Anyone 21 and older possessing an amount of cannabis more than the bill’s limit will be fined $500 for the first offense and a subsequent offense is a class C misdemeanor, punishable by up to three months in prison, a fine of up to $500, or both.